New Jersey Sick Leave Reminder

New Jersey’s sick leave law will go into effect on October 29, 2018. Employers should implement a compliant policy by that time.

Basics of the Law

  • All New Jersey employers, regardless of size, must provide employees with paid sick leave. 

  • Employees must accrue at least one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked.

  • Employers may cap an employee’s accrual and use at 40 hours per benefit year.

  • Sick leave may be used for an employee, their family member, in the case of sexual or domestic violence, to attend school-related events, or during business closures due to a public health emergency.

  • Employers must post this notice, as well as provide it to each employee individually, by November 2, 2018. Employees hired after that date should receive the notice upon hire.

Refer a client to Streamline Payroll and get $100.
 

A SSAE 16 Type I [SOC1] Company.

© 2018 by Streamline Payroll, LLC.
All Rights Reserved.

  • Streamline Payroll on Facebook
  • Streamline Payroll on Instagram
  • Streamline Payroll on LinkedIn
  • Streamline Payroll on Twitter